The Department of Computer Science will be a world class teaching and research institution in the field of Computer Science that serves the interests of the country.


The mission of the Department of Computer Science is to produce graduates equipped with the knowledge and skills required for professional careers and advanced studies in computer science, to advance the discipline of computing through internationally recognized research and development; to foster an environment that promotes academic excellence and professionalism; and to address the needs of education, government, industry and business through extension projects and continuing education programs.


The Department of Computer Science is one of the eight departments/institutes in the College of Engineering (COE), University of the Philippines - Diliman (UPD). The road to establishing the youngest department in COE started in the mid 1970's with the institution of the Master of Engineering in Computer Science (M.Engg. C.S.) program, a joint undertaking of the Department of Engineering Sciences (as the lead department, now defunct), the Department of Electrical Engineering (now the Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute), and the Department of Mathematics (now the Institute of Mathematics) of the College of Science.

In the early 1980's, the M.Engg. C.S. program was suspended as the Bachelor in Computer Science (B. C.S.) program was instituted. As with the master's program, the B. C.S. program was also a joint undertaking of the ES, EE and Math departments. An initial batch of 35 shiftees from more than 200 applicants from various colleges in UPD were admitted into the program in the second semester of A.Y. 1982-1983. Of the 35, 32 finished the course, 12 with Latin honors. In this first batch of Computer Science graduates was the 1986 Engineering class valedictorian.

In August 1988, the Board of Regents (BOR) approved the renaming of the ES department to "Department of Engineering and Computer Sciences (ECS)" to reflect the expertise available in the department. Three years later, in August 1991, the ECS department was split into two independent departments - taking ES back to its original name (Department of Engineering Sciences) and bringing to life the Department of Computer Science (DCS). The new department took the full responsibility of offering the B. C.S. program, which was subsequently renamed Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (B.Sc. C.S.) program. In May 1995, twenty years after the institution of the pioneering, but now defunct, M.Engg. C.S. program, the BOR approved the institution of a new Master of Science in Computer Science (M.Sc. C.S.) program. Today, both the B.Sc. C.S. and M.Sc. C.S. programs continue to attract some of the best students in UP Diliman.

Initially located in the College of Engineering Building (Melchor Hall), the Department of Computer Science moved to its current home at the Engineering Library and Computer Science Building (formally U.P. Alumni Engineers Centennial Hall, or AECH) on Velasquez St., UP Diliman Campus, in January 2007. The ELCSB/AECH also houses the library collection of the Department and that of the Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute.

The 2010s proved to be a watershed moment in the history of the Department. The period is characterized by expanded linkages with the industry through activities such as internships, capability building activities, and joint research undertakings. The decade also witnessed an expansion of the faculty roster, not just in number, but also in capability, degree, and distinction. This has enabled the Department to take on an unprecedented number of funded research projects, many of which tackled (or are tackling) problems of national significance.

As the decade draws to a close, the DCS is poised to continue on its journey towards even greater national significance, both through its highly capable graduates (both at the undergraduate and graduate level), as well as its research output.

A new home for the 2020s

As the Department's activities expanded in the 2010s, so did the space and facilities it needed. In the late 2010s, construction began on DCS' new buildings, beginning with Building 1 (tentative name), which is dedicated to the Department's research activities, and would house its research laboratories. The new building is located along T.H. Pardo de Tavera Street.


Construction continues as of the time of this writing, with plans for the Building 2 (tentative name), the building dedicated to the Department's teaching activities, being finalized and arranged for funding.


Through its ~30-year history as separate academic entity, the DCS has gone through 13 chairmanships, with two faculty members taking on the position twice (Dr. Jaime D.L. Caro and Dr. Cedric Angelo M. Festin). The Department is currently led by Dr. John Justine S. Villar.

Chairman Tenure
Prof. Evangel P. Quiwa October 1991 - October 1995
Prof. Ma. Veronica M. Tayag November 1995 - April 1996
Dr. Mark J. Encarnacion May 1996 - March 2000
Dr. Jaime D.L. Caro April 2000 - September 2002
Dr. Ronald M. Tuñgol October 2002 - May 2005
Dr. Cedric Angelo M. Festin June 2005 - May 2008
Dr. Jaime D.L. Caro June 2008 - March 2011
Dr. Adrian Roy L. Valdez March 2011 - March 2013
Dr. Cedric Angelo M. Festin April 2013 - March 2014
Dr. Prospero C. Naval Jr. April 2014 - March 2017
Dr. Jan Michael C. Yap April 2017 - July 2019
Dr. Jaymar B. Soriano August 2019 - August 2022
Dr. John Justine S. Villar September 2022 - present